

## **Devon Countryside Access Forum**

Lucombe House County Hall Topsham Road EXETER EX2 4QD

Tel: 07837 171000 01392 382771

hilary.winter@devon.gov.uk

www.devon.gov.uk/dcaf

Torridge District Council Environmental Health Department Riverbank House, Bideford Devon EX39 2QG

28 February 2018

Dear Sir/Madam

## Public Spaces Protection Order - Proposed Dog Control Order

The Devon Countryside Access Forum (DCAF) is a local access forum under the Countryside and Rights of Way Act 2000 (CRoW Act). Its statutory remit is to give independent advice "as to the improvement of public access to land in the area for the purposes of open-air recreation and the enjoyment of the area…"

The DCAF currently has sixteen members who represent the interests of landowners/managers, access users and other relevant areas of expertise such as conservation and tourism.

The timing of this consultation did not coincide with a meeting of the Forum but this response will be on the agenda for approval at the next meeting on 26 April.

The DCAF welcomes the introduction of a Public Spaces Protection Order to control dog fouling and the additional measure to ensure dogs could be put on leads by direction across the whole district. These measures would accord with the Forum's remit to improve public enjoyment of land.

The dog exclusion areas for children's play spaces and parts of Westward Ho! beach (seasonal) and dogs on leads in Victoria Park and Westward Ho! promenade (seasonal) are also welcomed. These appear to be a good balance to ensure health and safety in children's play areas and enjoyment by the wider public, particularly in the summer months when tourism is at its peak.



The Forum is aware that not all the specified children's play areas are fully enclosed and advises the District Council to ensure such areas are fenced, or otherwise protected, so that the dog exclusion zones can be fully effective.

Yours faithfully

Hilary Winter Forum Officer

Letter sent on behalf of Devon Countryside Access Forum

Chair: Sarah Slade Vice Chair: Chris Cole